Tuesday, Dec 26, 2023

List of Public Holidays in West Bengal in 2024

West Bengal government has issued a circular detailing the list of public holidays in 2024

durga pujaDurga Puja will be celebrated on October 13th this year. (PTI Photo)

With the new year just around the corner, mark your calendars with holidays for 2024.

While the West Bengal government is yet to make an official announcement on the holidays for the year 2024, here’s a tentative list.

The Central government also released the list of 17 Gazetted and 31 Restricted Holidays for 2024.

Here is the list of 24 Public Holidays for the calendar year 2024.

Occasion Date Day
Swami Vivekananda Jayanti January 12 Friday
Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti January 23 Tuesday
Republic Day (Gazetted) January 26 Friday
Vasant Panchami February 14 Wednesday
Doljatra March 25 Monday
Good Friday March 29 Friday
Idul Fitr April 10 Wednesday
Bengali New Year April 14 Sunday
Dr Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Sunday
May day May 01 Wednesday
Guru Rabindranath Jayanti May 08 Wednesday
Buddha Purnima May 23 Thursday
Bakrid / Eid al Adha June 17 Monday
Independence Day August 15 Thursday
Mahalaya Amavasye October 02 Wednesday
Gandhi Jayanti October 02 Wednesday
Maha Saptami October 10 Thursday
Maha Ashtami October 11 Friday
Durga puja/ Maha Navmi October 12 Saturday
Durga puja/ Vijaya Dashami October 13 Sunday
Lakshmi Puja October 17 Thursday
Diwali November 01 Friday
Guru Nanak Jayanti November 15 Friday
Christmas December 25 Wednesday






First published on: 26-12-2023 at 13:59 IST
Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments